A Path of Destruction

Let me start by saying that I probably shouldn’t write this post. Reason being that we still have several friends/owners of places we are staying that read this blog. So, I can see a few emails in our future saying things such as, “Oh…I am so sorry…we had a sudden engagement the weekend you are coming, and we are no longer able to host you.” But, I’m willing to take that risk.

I also should say that this post is not our typical M.O. Those of you who know us well know that we keep a (relatively) clean home, and everything in our house works as designed. (That’s what happens when you are married to an engineer.) We are not a family that is careless with our own or other people’s belongings.

But, based on this trip, you wouldn’t know that.

It all started in Stratford-Upon-Avon. If you’ve read my  Stratford-Upon-Avon post, you may recall the bed incident. Basically this is when Hubs went to put JJ in bed, leaned on the bed with his knee while holding JJ in his arms, and promptly brought the entire bed to the ground. Every slat hit the floor, as did Hubs and JJ. Take note of the key players in this scenario.

Luckily, Hubs was able to fix the bed, and we were in the clear. Little did I know this was just the beginning.

Fast forward to our stay in Arlesey, England with our dear friends, Lisa, Martin, Kira, and Heidi. And those darn light/fan/shower cords. Hubs decided to pull the fan cord in the bathroom…and it came off in his hand. Again, take note of the key player in this scenario.

Being the type to fix things, Hubs asked Martin if there was somewhere we could buy another cord, but pretty much they had never used the cord before and had no idea where to buy one. So, we left with our tails between our legs.  I will say, however, that Hubs did spend a significant amount of time putting the doors on their built-in refrigerator which they had never been able to do successfully, so maybe we redeemed ourselves a bit.

Moving on, we arrived in Kilkenny, Ireland at an absolutely beautiful B&B. The furniture was beautiful, the service outstanding, and they paid attention to every detail. It was lovely. Until Hubs decided to help JJ wash his hair. While sitting on the toilet. With the lid closed. You can read about it here – What Isn’t Working Well – but basically below is the result. And again…who are the key players in this scenario?

IMG_6252

Bad things come in threes, so we should be done, but that would be too easy. And less interesting too, I suppose. But also less humiliating.

I should also point out that we don’t just destroy other people’s property. We are doing a number on our own things as well. I’m pretty anal cautious about our belongings as we have relatively few with us, and I don’t feel like spending a bunch of money to replace things we already have. So I was pretty annoyed when, five weeks in, I dropped and broke the water bottle I had purchased specially for the trip. And as far as clothes go, I want our clothes to last as long as possible even if we are already hating them halfway through the trip. So, things like this get to me:

These have already been washed, and it still looks like JJ was run over by a bicycle.
These have already been washed, and it still looks like JJ was run over by a bicycle.
These are actually brand new to replace a pair that got a hole the first day she wore them. This is the first day she wore these.
These are actually brand new to replace a pair that got a hole the first day she wore them. This is the first day she wore these.
Just in case you needed a close-up, although I think the damage is obviously from a distance.
Just in case you needed a close-up, although I think the damage is obvious from a distance.
Sorry, kid -- already bought you a new pair. Deal with it.
Sorry, kid — already bought you a new pair. Deal with it. Maybe we can make them into a pair of shorts.

At this point, I thought we were safe. So when we came to our friends’ beautiful home in old Amsterdam, I wasn’t worried. Yes, it’s a sophisticated home. Yes, it is furnished elegantly with a mixture of old and modern that meshes perfectly. And yes, it may be one of the nicest places we have stayed. And yes, it was just completed.

So when, within an hour or so of our arrival, we heard a loud crash, we figured a kiddo has slipped on the narrow, somewhat winding staircase. When one of our hosts called up the stairs to ask what happened, we all heard a crying Missa B say, “The sink fell on me.” We were sure we had all heard wrong. But we hadn’t:

IMG_0090
Where the sink used to be.
IMG_0089
Where the sink is now.

I am crossing my fingers that everything was building up to this grand finale. Again, keep in mind the key players in each scenario. Other than a minor water bottle, one person is missing, and I intend to keep it that way. And I intend to keep the others in line as well. So fear not Siobhain, Catherine and Molly!

And, on a random side note — I haven’t appeared in a lot of photos lately. I am getting my haircut on Friday. There may be a correlation there. Just sayin’.

7 thoughts on “A Path of Destruction

  1. Courtney August 19, 2015 / 5:55 am

    Kimberly so sorry but o love your blog and photos to boot. Want to know about the sink though — could have crushed her!!

    Like

    • navigatorof4 August 20, 2015 / 2:27 pm

      Glad you are enjoying it, Courtney! She was fine, but quite scared. And then embarrassed.

      Like

  2. Gramc August 19, 2015 / 6:54 am

    Yikes! Wonder why I’m not joining you!

    Like

  3. Diana Hice August 19, 2015 / 11:14 am

    I hope JJ didn’t get wet and Missa B didn’t get hurt!

    Like

    • navigatorof4 August 20, 2015 / 2:26 pm

      They are both still dragging bags and doing great! 7 miles of walking/biking today!

      Like

  4. Jesica August 19, 2015 / 2:04 pm

    Hilarious!!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

